How Can We Help You?


Youth Advisory Commission


YAC Vision

Anchorage is a beautiful and diverse community where youth are encouraged to do their best and stay involved.

YAC Mission

We accomplish this by increasing cross-generational opportunities and cooperation in order to form bonds and mutual respect.

Apply Now

Are you a resident of Anchorage 14-22 years old?

Do you want to join the Youth Advisory Commission?

Volunteer Opportunities

The Youth Service Committee focuses on connecting Anchorage youth to volunteer opportunities throughout the Municipality. For more information or to join the committee you can email us at:

Mayor's AmeriCorps Program (MAP)

The Mayor’s AmeriCorps Program (MAP) is a twelve-week summer program for young adults ages 18-26. MAP participants will connect primarily underserved or otherwise disadvantaged communities with Municipality of Anchorage sources and services.

MAP provides valuable workforce/professional development opportunities by placing AmeriCorps volunteers throughout several Muni departments. The 2017 departments are:

  • The Anchorage Police Department

  • The Anchorage Fire Department

  • Parks and Recreation

  • Anchorage Public Library

  • Department of Health and Human Service

To learn more or apply for a position with MAP, visit:

    • Youth Advisory Commission
    • Special Assistant to Mayor Ethan Berkowitz for Youth Development : George Martinez
    • 632 West 6th Avenue
    • 907-343-7108
Youth Advisory Commission Officers
Chair - Rainier Herczeg, UAA
Vice Chair - Kallie Handlong, East HS  
Secretary – Anessa Feero, West HS
Treasurer – Alexandra Medoferia, West HS

Youth Advisory Commission Members
Brianna Bundick-Kelly, Bartlett HS
Iyanna Craig, Benny Benson
Carly Dennis, Chugiak HS
Reth Duir, UAA
Tuan Graziano, UAA
Abigail Hall, Bartlett HS*
David Holmes, East High School
John Jones, I.D.E.A
Brynn Morse, East HS 
Yinelkis Rosario, Bartlett
Tammalivis Salanoa, UAA
Aleija Stover, UAA*
Tatiana Ticknor, East HS
Andrew Wiggin, West HS 

(*alternate member)

Under the leadership of Mayor Ethan Berkowitz the Youth Advisory Commission was reinstated after the passage of Assembly Ordinance No. 2015 - 119 which amended Municipal Code Section 4.60.275 to affirmatively continue and reenact the commission.