Reapportionment Anchorage

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​In accordance with the U.S. and Alaska Constitutions and the Anchorage Municipal Charter, the Assembly has reviewed 2020 Census data and declared itself malapportioned. The Reapportionment Committee is charged with creating recommendations for revised district boundaries to ensure fair representation.

Reapportionment is Now Complete​


At the Special Assembly meeting on March 23, the Assembly passed AO 2022-37(S-1), As Amended which approved map 11v2 by Weddleton/Wells with an approved amendment of ​Constant Amended Map 11v2​, putting into place a new district map for the Anchorage Assembly. 

Following the adoption of the map, the Assembly passed a resolution to declare the process to hold a special election on June 21, 2022 to fill the new 12th seat, now known as Seat L.

Announcement of map adoption​
Ordinance to adopt the new map
Resolution to Declare the Process to Fill 12th Seat
Calendar for June 21, 2022 Special Election

​​Final Report
A final report is before the Assembly for approval at the April 26 meeting:

Public Comments - NOW CLOSED

Submit a public comment related to the apportionment of the districts. When submitting comments, please identify which map you are addressing.​​​​​

PREVIOUS MEETINGS: For detailed co​mm​ittee discussion, please refer to the recording of this meeting located on the Municipal Website at Watch​Now. ​​ ​

​Links to YouTube videos of the meetings can be​ found on the Municipal Meetings page (Municipal Meetings) by clicking on the “view media" link next to the corresponding meeting date. “View media" links are posted at least one hour before the scheduled meeting time and remain archived for future viewing. ​

November 23, 2021 ​Agenda ​Draft - AR 2021-382 Declaration of Malapportionment - Currently scheduled for the Regular Assembly Meeting of

Commi​ttee Members

  • Christopher Constant, Chair
  • Pete Petersen, Member​
    Crystal Kennedy, Member
    Austin Quinn-Davidson, Member
    John Weddleton, Member
    Felix Rivera, Member

Staff Contact

  • Clare Ross, Assembly Liaison
  • Barbara A. Jones, Municipal Clerk
  • Mandy Honest, Business License Official