AMATS Freight Advisory Committee logo_a ship_truck_rail and cargo


The Freight Advisor​y Committee is the community​ forum for freight issues affecting the AMATS area. Specific functions of this group are to assist in promoting public participation in the freight planning process and to comment on freight planning issues. Members of this group are appointed by the Policy​ Committee.


  • Provide review and comment on freight planning issues
  • Assist in promoting public participation in the freight planning process​​


​Joe Michel - Chair
​Alaska Trucking Association​
​Doug Thompson - Vice Chair​
​Member-at-Large - Holland America - Princess
​Eddie Walton
​Brian Lindamood
​Alaska Railroad Corporation
​Mike Thrasher
​Shippers - Totem Ocean Trailer Express
​Dr. Darren Prokop
​Academic Member - UAA, Information Systems & Decision Sciences
​Teri Lindseth
​Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport​
​Dan Smith
​ADOT&PF - Commercial Vehicle Enforcement
​Richard Heath​
Parcel Delivery - ​UPS
​Steven Ribuffo
​Port of Alaska
​Robert Sherrill​


Staff Liaison:

Jon Cecil, AICP
Senior Transportation Planner​
P: 907.343.7915​​

​Public Resources: 

Port of Alaska​
Ted Stevens ANC International Airport

AMATS committee meetings are open to the public & the public is provided an opportunity to comment at each meeting. Business items are presented by staff or consultant. After the committee discusses the business item, the public is invited to formally comment.​​​