Assembly Certifies 2024 Regular Election, Initiates Runoff Mayoral Election


During tonight’s Regular Assembly Meeting, the Anchorage Assembly unanimously voted to certify the results of the April 2, 2024 Regular Municipal Election, initiating the 2024 Runoff Mayoral Election.

“Local elections hit close to home,” said Assembly Chair Christopher Constant. “72,250 voters participated in this year’s regular election and the majority of those ballots were processed in record time, thanks to the team pushing hard to ensure every valid vote counts. It’s with gratitude and trust that I applaud our election officials for their service as we now ask them to do it all over again.”

Per Anchorage Municipal Charter, a runoff election will be held to determine the next Mayor of Anchorage, as no candidate received at least 45% of the votes, plus one. The runoff election is scheduled for Tuesday, May 14 and will feature the top two candidates from the regular election: Dave Bronson and Suzanne LaFrance.

Important Dates for the 2024 Runoff Mayoral Election

  • Tues. April 30: Ballots Mailed to Qualified, Registered Voters
  • Tues. May 7: Anchorage Vote Centers Open
  • Tues. May 14: Runoff Election Day
  • Fri. May 31: Special Assembly Meeting to Certify Runoff Election Results
  • Weds. May 29: Public Session of Canvass
Additional Election Information
  • The deadline to apply to receive a ballot at a temporary address is 5:00 p.m. May 7, 2024.
  • The deadline to request a replacement ballot if a ballot package has been lost or damaged ballot is 5:00 p.m. May 7, 2024.
  • Voters can sign up at www.anchoragev​ for ballot tracking to get alerts when the voter’s ballot envelope reaches various points in the election process.

For additional Municipal Election information, please visit, call 907-243-VOTE (8683), or email



William Northrop | Acting Election Administrator
907-243-VOTE (8683)