How Can We Help You?

Mayor's Corner

Anchorage Sister Cities

"The Sister Cities program is an important resource to the negotiations of governments in letting the people themselves give expression of their common desire for friendship, goodwill and cooperation for a better world." President Dwight D. Eisenhower

Sister Cities International grew out of the People-to-People concept proposed by President Dwight D. Eisenhower at a White House conference in 1956.

The Anchorage Sister Cities Commission was established in 1970, and became a full Commission in 1972. Its formation formally recognized the importance of cultural sport and educational exchange programs between Anchorage and other foreign cities as a means to foster mutual respect and goodwill.

The Commission is composed of Anchorage citizens appointed by the Mayor. Commissioners come from diverse groups within the community including the fields of government, commerce and education, as well as representatives of various ethnic communities. The members volunteer their time and efforts. The Sister Cities Commission also assists in hosting functions on behalf of Anchorage for visiting citizens and dignitaries from its sister cities.

For more information, email the Anchorage Sister Cities Commission at

            Whitby, England Representatives

                        Marty Margeson

                        Paula Pawlowski - Chair

            Chitose, Japan Representatives

                        Hiroko Harada and Marianne Kerr   

          Magadan, Russia Representative

                        Jeff Landfeld - Vice Chair

            Incheon, Korea Representative

                        Chong Park  

            Darwin, Australia Representatives

                        Stephen Blanchett

                        Thomas Bay - Treasurer

            Tromsø, Norway Representatives    

                    Enke Gendendorj and Ruth Kvernplassen

            Harbin, China Representative

                       Jin Chen - Secretary


Mayor's Staff Liaison:

Amy Coffman

    • Mayor's Corner
    • Mayor: Ethan Berkowitz
    • 632 W 6th Avenue, Suite 840, Anchorage, AK 99501
    • 907 343-7100