How Can We Help You?


Anchorage leans heavily Republican in both State and Presidential elections. However, since the establishment of the Municipality in 1975, there have been two Democratic mayors who have been elected to two terms. Downtown is a stronghold of the Democratic Party, while the military bases are the most Republican areas of the Municipality.

Anchorage sends 15 representatives to the 40-member Alaska House of Representatives and 7 senators to the 20-member senate, making up nearly half of both houses. When seats from the neighboring Mat-Su Borough are added, more than half of the Alaska State legislature comes from the Anchorage metropolitan area. This is often used as an argument in favor of moving the state capital from Juneau to a location in the Anchorage area.