How Can We Help You?

Health and Human Services

Anchorage Women's Commission


The Anchorage Women's Commission exists to advise the Mayor and Assembly on matters pertaining to the status of women.

The Commission shall be particularly concerned with improving opportunities for women in the community.

The Commission shall:

  • Act as a clearinghouse and coordinating body for information related to the status of women.
  • Disseminate results of research and other information on women's issues.
  • Analyze and set priorities for women's needs at the local level.
  • Recommend legislative and administrative action on women's issues.
  • Encourage women to utilize their capabilities and to assume leadership roles.
  • Act as a liaison between the state women's commission and local women.

Meetings are held on 2nd Thursday of each month at 5:00 p.m. at the Department of Health and Human Services, 825 L Street in conference room 423.


There are nine seats on the Commission. Members are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Assembly. Terms are 3 years and commissioners may be reappointed for an additional 3 year term.

Aimee Chauvot, Chair

Anita Halterman

Callie Kim

Cara Durr

Carolyn Hall-Jensen

Geran Tarr, Vice Chair

Sarra Khlifi

Tiffany Hall

If you are interested in serving, please visit the Municipality website at:

Recent Events
Staff Support

Staff support for the Commission is provided by the Administration Division at the Department of Health and Human Services. For more information, you may call 343-4244 or email Clara Park at

    • Health and Human Services
    • Director: Natasha Pineda
    • 825 L Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
    • 907-343-6718