How Can We Help You?

Direct Services

Congratulations to Ms. Dawnia Clements, recipient of the 2015 Ron Hammett Award for Outstanding Service to Seniors and their Families

Senior Citizens Advisory Commission (SCAC)

The purpose of the Senior Citizens Advisory Commission is to:

  • Advise the Mayor, the Assembly and appropriate Department Heads with respect to aspects of aging which bear upon the welfare of senior citizens;
  • Conduct surveys and compile and disseminate for the benefit of senior citizens information on housing, health, nutrition, transportation, education, recreation, legal services and social/mental health services;
  • Carry out educational and public relations programs designed to create public awareness of the needs of senior citizens and the community services which senior citizens can provide;
  • Assist and provide programs that alert elderly persons of the resources and services available to them.

MEETING: The Commission meets on the fourth Wednesday of the month from 10:00 am to 12:00 pm at the Anchorage Senior Activity Center, 1300 East 19th Ave., Anchorage AK 99501 (see 2015 Scheduled Meetings).

To find out more about the programs and activities of the Senior Citizens Advisory Commission, contact David M. Levy at 907-343-4763.


Joan Fisher, Chair

Stuart (Cam) Rader, Vice-Chair

Theresa Brisky

Dawnia Clements

Ella Craig

Carol Jackson

AnnaBell Stevens

Mary Sullivan

Kevin Turkington


    • Direct Services
    • Division Manager: Tari O'Connor
    • 825 L Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
    • 907 343-6718