# ANCHORAGE METROPOLITAN AREA TRANSPORTATION FREIGHT ADVISORY COMMITTEE

## MS TEAMS Online Anchorage, Alaska

March 1, 2023 3:00 PM

Those in attendance were:

NAME	REPRESENTING
Joe Michel, Chair	ATA
Steve Ribuffo	Port of Alaska
Dan Smith	MSC/ADOT&PF
Doug Thompson	Holland America-Princess
Richard Heath	UPS
Mike Thrasher	TOTE/OCEAN
Robert Sherrill	USAF, DLA
Steve Ribuffo	Port of Alaska
John Johansen	TSAIA (Alt. for Teri Lindseth)

## Excused:

Absent: Eddie Walton, Matson, Darren Prokop, UAA, Brian Lindamood, ARRC

Other Participants:
Jon Cecil, AMATS
Aaron Jongenelen, AMATS
James Starzec, DOT/PF
Eric Taylor, DOT/PF
Cathy Gleason
James Starzec, DOT/PF
Lucas Smith

## 1. CALL TO ORDER

CHAIR MICHEL called the online special meeting being conducted via MS Teams to order at 3:00p.m. A quorum was established.

**2. PUBLIC INVOLVEMENT ANNOUNCEMENT.** Chair MICHEL read the public involvement message. A recording will be available of the

meeting along with a sign in sheet.

## 3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Approval moved for agenda by MR. RIBUFFO; seconded by MR. MICHEL. *Agenda approved unanimously.* 

## 4. MINUTES

## 5. ACTION ITEMS:

## A. Selection of Critical Urban Freight Corridor

Additions: Chair MICHEL discussed rationale for the designation of 30.3 miles of Critical Urban Freight Corridors (CUFCs) as included in the Alaska 2050 Statewide Freight Plan that has been submitted to the FHWA on 10/26/22. Mr. RIBUFFO moved and Mr. THRASHER seconded the motion to approve the recommended list of road segments as outlined in the staff memo. Mr. MICHEL asked for comments from the committee. Staff noted changes from the original staff memo which added a column for the starting points and deletion of a column for the segment identification numbers. Their being no objections the motion was approved.

## 6. Project Plan Updates

## 7. General Information

## 8. Committee Comments

Chair MICHEL noted that Commercial Enforcement has submitted a recommendation for Carlos Rojas to fill that seat on the committee.

Dr. Helena S. Wisniewski has been nominated to fill the academic seat vacancy created by the retirement of Daren Prokop.

## 9. Public Comments

- a. Cathy Gleason
- **b.** Lucas Smith

## 10. Adjourn

Meeting adjourned at approximately 3:25 p.m.