How Can We Help You?


 Annual awards recognize leaders in the arts 

4/29/2010 | Contact: Sarah Erkmann, (907) 343-7103 OR Bob Curtis-Johnson, (907) 248-4336
Mayor's Office

ANCHORAGE- Recipients of the 2010 Mayor’s Awards for the Arts have been chosen and will be recognized at a reception on Wed., May 5. The public is invited to join the celebration at the Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center.

The awards will be presented by Anchorage Mayor Dan Sullivan and will feature a performance by 2010 award winner Anchorage Classical Ballet Academy.

The awardees were selected by a committee of volunteers who work closely with the Municipal Arts Advisory Commission and the Anchorage Cultural Council to organize the annual event.

The 2010 awardees are:

Outstanding Individual Artist     Mariano Gonzales

Outstanding Arts Organization   Anchorage Classical

                                                        Ballet Academy

Champion of the Arts                   Nancy Harbour

Youth Arts Award                         Travis Harrington

Kay Linton Volunteer in the Arts Bruce & Audrey Kelly

Lorene Harrison Award                Alice Bassler Sullivan

The 2010 awardees will be presented with artwork especially commissioned for the event by renowned Anchorage printmaker Garry Kaulitz, winner of the Outstanding Individual Artist award in 2009.

The awards celebration is from 5:30 to 7:00 p.m. in the atrium of the Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center. The event is free and open to the public.

Featured Links