How Can We Help You?

Mayor's Office

Mayor's Energy Task Force

A task force created in 2009 by Mayor Dan Sullivan to address the city’s looming energy crisis, see 2009 press release

** Meetings are broadcast live and recorded at:

Recent meetings

April 30, 2014
9:00 am – 11:00 am
Anchorage City Hall, Room 830

9:00 am – 11:00 amAnchorage City Hall, Room 830



  1. Dan Fauske, President of Alaska Gasline Development Corp.
  2. Mike Pawlowski, Deputy Commissioner, Department of Revenue

Discussion and Q&A

March 12, 2014
9:00 am – 11:00 am
Anchorage City Hall, Room 830

Topic: Proposal of a Railbelt Electric Independent System Operator

Presentation by:

  1. Mr. Bradley Evans, CEO
    Chugach Electric
  2. Mr. Gene Therriault, Deputy Director
    Statewide Energy Policy Development
    Alaska Energy Authority

Discussion and Q&A

November 6, 2013

Topic: Electric Generation and Transmission in the Railbelt


In Person:

  1. Joe Griffith, General Manager
    Matanuska Electric Association (MEA)
  2. Brian Hickey, Executive Manager of Grid Development
    Chugach Electric Association
  3. Jim Posey, General Manager
    Municipal Light & Power (ML&P)


  1. John Foutz, Utility Manager
    Seward Electric System
  2. Mike Wright, Vice-President of Transmission & Distribution
    Golden Valley Electric Association
  3. Brad Janorschke, General Manager (Invited)
    Homer Electric Association

October 2 2013 

Topic: Gas Supply Contracts; Today and in the Future.


  1. Moira Smith, Vice-President and General Counsel, Enstar Natural Gas Company
  2. Chugach Electric Association Lee Thibert, Senior Vice President of Strategic Planning & Corporate Affiars
  3. Joe Griffith, General ManagerMatanuska Electric Association (MEA)
  4. Jim Posey, General Manager Municipal Light & Power (ML&P)

September 18 2013

The Mayor’s Energy Task Force will be hearing a presentation from Alaska Gasline Development Corporation (AGDC) President, Mr. Dan Fauske

 Mr. Fauske will be providing an update on the Alaska Stand Alone Pipeline project. 

During the 2013 legislative session, HB 4 passed, providing AGDC the authority and resources to develop, finance, and operate a 500 million cubic feet per day gas pipeline from the North Slope, serving Fairbanks and Southcentral.  The Alaska State Legislature also appropriated $355 million to advance the Alaska Stand Alone Pipeline (ASAP) project to open season and sanction. 

Mr. Fauske will be providing the task force will an update on where the project currently stands.  


  1. Topic: Alaska Stand Alone Pipeline (ASAP) Project Update
  2. Presenter: Dan Fauske, President of Alaska Gasline Development Corp.

Presentation slides .pdf

    • Mayor's Office
    • Mayor: Dan Sullivan
    • 632 W 6th Avenue, Suite 840, Anchorage, AK 99501
    • 907 343-7100

Meeting Presentations

To view past presentations see meeting archives

Mayor’s Energy Task Force Members

  • Tony Izzo, Chairman
  • Dan Coffey
  • Judy BradyMary
  • Ann Pease
  • Arden Page
  • Bill Popp
  • Gary Carlson
  • Steve Pratt
  • Bob Stinson
  • Jason Brune

Mayor's Office contact: Shalon Harrington
Direct line: 907 343-6783

Mayor Dan Sullivan
Phone: 907-343-7100