Anchorage Sister Cities Commission Meeting

April 25, 2023, @ 6:00 pm In-Person: Mayor's Conference room

Teams Link: Notified via Email

Anchorage Municipal Chapter, Code, and Regulations, Program Advisory Boards. 4.60.120 - Sister cities commission.

There is established a sister cities commission, consisting of not less than nine members, to develop programs of cooperation, to foster mutual respect and good will and to promote understanding between the people of the sister cities

Commissioner Roll Call:

Robin Brooks (Vice-Chair)	Michael Kaplan	 Claudia Farias Pinard
Adrienne Evans	Aaron Leggett (Secretary)	 Tetyana Robbins
Irene Green	• Yeon Min (Treasurer)	 Anna Vernaya
Hiroko Harada (Chair)	Yohyon Pharr	

Staff Support – Mario Bird, Policy Advisor, Office of the Mayor

Assembly Liaison - Christopher Constant, Assembly member

- 1. Approval of agenda
- 2. Approval of previous meeting minutes
- 3. Treasurer's Report (Yeon)
- 4. Old Business
 - Magadan: The Assembly voted to suspend the Sister Cities relationship. (Robin and Aaron)
 - ASCC Vice Chair, Robin Brooks, attended the April 7th Assembly meeting (Conf Room 155 at 10:00 a.m. (Robin)
 - History of Anchorage Harbin sister cities (Aaron)
 - Racife, Brazil
- 5. New Business
 - Role of the Mayor's Office (Robin)
- 6. Sister Cities Reports
 - Chitose (April 21, 1969) Hiroko Harada, Aaron Leggett
 - o The 55th Anniversary: Proposed dates: Early September, 2024, for about a week.
 - Tromso (Sept. 26, 1969) Tetyana, Michael
 - Whitby (March 15, 1978) Yeon Min. 1 vacant
 - Darwin (Sept. 11, 1982) Robin Brooks, Irene (No response)
 - Incheon (Nov. 15, 1986) Adrienne Evans, 1 vacant
 - Harbin (2018) 2 vacant –
 - Magadan (June 22, 1991): Suspended. Anna Vernya (?)
- 7. Comments / Announcements

Next Meeting: May 24, 2023, @ 6:00 pm Adjourn