Sister Cities

For more information about the trip, please click the image above.

To apply to be a part of the delegation, please click  on this form.


Whitby, England

 Marty Margeson

Paula Pawlowski- Chair

Chitose, Japan

Hiroko Harada 

Marianne Kerr   

Magadan, Russia 

Jeff Landfeld -Vice Chair


Chong Park  

Darwin, Australia  

Stephen Blanchett

Thomas Bay - Treasurer

Tromsø, Norway     

Enke Gendendorj

Ruth Kvernplassen

Harbin, China        

Jin Chen - Secretary


Mayor's Staff Liaison:

Amy Coffman

How Can We Help You?

Anchorage Sister Cities

"The Sister Cities program is an important resource to the negotiations of governments in letting the people themselves give expression of their common desire for friendship, goodwill and cooperation for a better world." President Dwight D. Eisenhower

Sister Cities International grew out of the People-to-People concept proposed by President Dwight D. Eisenhower at a White House conference in 1956.

The Anchorage Sister Cities Commission was established in 1970, and became a full Commission in 1972. Its formation formally recognized the importance of cultural sport and educational exchange programs between Anchorage and other foreign cities as a means to foster mutual respect and goodwill.

The Commission is composed of Anchorage citizens appointed by the Mayor. Commissioners come from diverse groups within the community including the fields of government, commerce and education, as well as representatives of various ethnic communities. The members volunteer their time and efforts. The Sister Cities Commission also assists in hosting functions on behalf of Anchorage for visiting citizens and dignitaries from its sister cities.

For more information, email the Anchorage Sister Cities Commission at