How Can We Help You?


Filing for Office

The next regular Municipal election will be held on Tuesday, April 3, 2018.  The filing period begins on Friday, January 19, 2018 at 8:00 a.m. and ends on Friday, February 2, 2018 at 5:00 p.m.

Candidates for Municipal office must be ...

  • a resident of the Municipality of Anchorage, and
  • a qualified voter of the Municipality of Anchorage and the State of Alaska,
  • among other specific qualifications.


Candidates for Mayor

Candidates for Anchorage School Board Seats

Candidates for Boards of Supervisors, including LRSA Seats

REQUIREMENTS for candidate filing ...

There are very specific steps you must take in order to appear on the 2018 Regular Municipal Election ballot as a candidate for office.  (Detailed instructions for filing for office, information regarding candidacy requirements, and  the forms for declaration are included in the filing packets available above.)

State Requirements:

1.  Public Official Financial Disclosure (POFD) Statement

All candidates, except candidates for service area boards, must file a POFD Statement online at

After you have completed your POFD Statement, the form must be printed, signed, and included with your Municipal filing packet.

2.  Candidate Registration Statement or Municipal Exemption Statement

Within seven days of filing a declaration of candidacy for Municipal office, candidates must file either a Candidate Registration Statement or a Municipal Exemption Statement online at     

Candidate Registration Statement - The Candidate Registration Statement must be filed by candidates who will have more than $5000 in campaign financial activity.  Additionally, the candidate is required to file campaign disclosure reports to disclose all campaign financial activity throughout the course of the election.

Municipal Exemption Statement - The Municipal Exemption Statement must be filed by candidates intending to raise and spend less than $5000 on campaign activity.  In this case, the candidate is exempted from filing campaign disclosure reports.

3.  Letter of Intent 

In order to start campaigning and raising funds for an election, candidates must file a Letter of Intent online at

For all State of Alaska filing requirements, you may access online filing by logging into your MyAlaska account.   If you already have a username and password established for filing your Permanent Fund Dividend (PFD) application, you may use the same log-in information for access to candidate disclosure filing.  (Otherwise, please visit to register for a MyAlaska account.)  After logging into your MyAlaska account, you may access online filing by selecting APOC - Disclosure Forms under Services for Individuals.

For more instructions on how to access the above forms, click on How to File Your APOC Disclosure Forms Online.

Please contact the Alaska Public Offices Commission (APOC) directly by calling (907) 276-4176 with any questions regarding the above requirements.

municipal Requirements:

  • Access and print a filing packet (above) for the office for which you would like to declare candidacy.
  • File your Declaration of Candidacy along with your POFD Statement with the Municipal Clerk's Office.  The last day to file for office is on Friday, February 2, 2018 by 5:00 p.m.

You may file your Declaration of Candidacy and POFD Statement with the Municipal Clerk's Office at either of the following locations:

  • MOA Election Center - 619 E Ship Creek Drive, Suite D, Door D
  • Municipal Clerk's Office - Anchorage City Hall, 632 W 6th Avenue, Suite 250

More Information

Campaign Signs - Excerpts from AMC Title 21 re Temporary or Political Signs and Signs in General

    • Elections
    • Municipal Clerk: Barbara A. Jones
    • MOA Election Center 619 East Ship Creek Avenue, Suite 100, Anchorage, AK 99501
    • (907) 243-VOTE (8683)


2018 Candidates for Municipal Office

Candidates for Mayor:

Dustin Darden, filed 01/19/2018

Timothy R. Huit, filed 02/01/2018

Jacob Kern, filed 01/31/2018

Paul Kendall, filed 02/02/2018

Matthew Mendonsa, filed 01/22/2018

Nelson Godoy, filed 01/22/2018

Ron Stafford, filed 01/31/2018

Rebecca Logan, filed 01/19/2018

Ethan A. Berkowitz, filed 01/19/2018

Candidates for Anchorage School Board Seat E:

Tasha Hotch, filed 01/19/2018

Alisha Hilde, filed 01/19/2018

Don Smith, filed 02/02/2018

Ron Stafford, filed 01/31/2018

David Nees, filed 01/30/2018

Candidates for Anchorage School Board Seat F:

Deena Mitchell, filed 02/02/2018

Phil Isley, filed 02/02/2018

Tam Agosti-Gisler - Withdrawal 02/02/2018

Candidates for Anchorage School Board Seat G:

Irene Weisman, filed 01/22/2018

Deena Mitchell - Withdrawal 02/02/2018

Elisa Snelling, filed 01/22/2018

Candidates for Boards of Supervisors, including LRSA Seats:

Shawn Dooley, SRW Homeowners, Seat A

Brian Hoefler, Mtn. Park/Robin Hill, Seat A

Anthony Winsor, Talus West, Seat B

Jack Walker, Sec. 6/Campbell Airstrip, Seat C

Roger Marks, Glen Alps, Seat E

Pamela Giammalva, Totem, Seat C

William Ennis, Bear Valley, Seat C

Eric Shumar, Paradise Valley South, Seat C

Ronni Sullivan, Chugiak Fire, Seat B

David Lipps, Rabbit Creek View/Heights, Seat A

Gerald (Jerry) Fox, Girdwood Valley, Seat A

Eric Johnson, Sec. 6/Campbell Airstrip, Seat B

Thomas Johnson, SRW Homeowners, Seat A

Jewel Jones, Vallivue, Seat D

Joseph Connolly, Glen Alps, Seat E

Jim Cottrell, Upper Grover, Seat A

Eryn Boone, Girdwood Valley, Seat B

Brett Bingham, Sequoia Estates, Seat E

Declared Write-In Candidate:  Joseph Kurtak,      Sky Ranch Estates, Seat A

Declared Write-In Candidate:  Tim Culhane,      South Goldenview, Seat B

Declared Write-In Candidate:  Kerwin Krause,    Mtn. Park/Robin Hill, Seat B

Declared Write-In Candidate:  Marty Lemon,     South Goldenview, Seat C

Declared Write-In Candidate:  Mike Markie,      Vallivue, Seat A